September 10, 2004

National City Students Dominate Science Competition

Seventh and eighth graders nab 25 awards

National City Middle School students have made history at the San Diego County Fair. Walking away with 25 awards in the Exploring Technology Division of the 2004 San Diego County Fair, these students earned more awards for their school than any other had garnered in the last 22 years.

Nabbing Awards for National City: National City Middle teacher Henry Gutierrez and students Curtis Tucker, Angie Aparicio and Samantha Pantaleon pose near a winning entry.

Seventh and eighth graders in Henry Gutierrez’s Exploring Technology classes competed against high school and even college students in General Technology and Drafting categories. Competitors were not subdivided by age or by grade level. National City Middle students took home 15 first-place finishes, three second places, six Best of Class awards and one Best of Show honor. And this was the first time the school had ever entered students in the competition.

In the General Technology division, students could enter their designs into “Electro/Mechanical/Engineering Science” or “Energy/Power/Transportation” showcases. Their creations included dragster race cars, cranes, planes and rockets. Students competed in groups and as individuals. Drafting showcase entries included bridges and a variety of houses.

The National City award winners were:

Drafting: Edilyn Aguyao, Angie Aparicio, Franz Balingit and Diana Romero each won first place plus Best of Class; Victor Carmanes, Christina Chavez, Juan Cristeana, David Diaz, Ivan Deniz, Amanda Escherich, Sharon Hernandez, Michael Hijar, Mayra Lopez, Queren Lopez, Vivek Patel, Rudy Ramirez, Jr., Caroline Salazar, Elizabeth Veloz, Louie Ventara, Brittany Watson, Mindy Williams and Jesus Zavala each won first place; Patti Ann Angeles, Carlos Beltran, Rudy Gonzalez, Joshua Hernandez and Kay Laumann each won second place.

General Technology: Samantha Pantaleon won first place, Best of Class and Best of Show; Alfonso Brava, Tucker Curtis, Bernardo Garcia, Luis Navarro and Daniel Perez won first place and Best of Class honors; Rebecca Ocampo, Priscilla Pimental and Cathy Ann Pyper each won second place.

Return to the Frontpage