September 8, 2000

Six Hispanic High School Seniors Win National Honor

Winners of Hispanic Heritage Youth Awards to be Saluted on NBC Television

Nearly $400,000 in Awards to National and Regional Winners

Washington, D.C. — Six high school students will soon be in the national spotlight. These accomplished young people are the recipients of the coveted Hispanic Heritage Youth Awards. They are outstanding role models whose busy lives and many successes are a great contribution to our country. The honored students were selected from among 60 Regional Winners from 10 cities across the U.S. to reach the pinnacle of the Hispanic Heritage Awards Foundation's annual search for the nation's most outstanding Hispanic youth.

Raul R. Tapia, Chairman of the Hispanic Heritage Awards Foundation, announced the names of the National Winners of the Hispanic Heritage Youth Awards. "In only three years, the Hispanic Heritage Youth Awards has tripled its investment in our youth," he stated. "We received nearly double the applications as in the past, and the job of selecting the winners was difficult because of the high quality of the students that applied. The Hispanic Heritage Awards Foundation is proud to be able to recognize these young Latinos who will surely be tomorrow's leaders." Mr. Tapia announced the winners in the six categories of the Awards:

Carlos Aponte, Jr., Murray Bertraum High School for Business Careers, Brooklyn, NY, Leadership/Community Service, sponsored by Fannie Mae Foundation.

Robert Jesse Anguiano, Tuloso-Midway High School, Corpus Christi, TX, Sports, sponsored by Denny's.

Marianne Moreno, South Grand Prairie High School, Dallas, TX, Arts, sponsored by Dr. Pepper.

Jaquelyn Gonzalez, G. Holmes Braddock High School, Miami FL, Literature/Journalism, sponsored by NBC (Television Stations Division).

Christian Alejandro Asmar, Miami Beach Senior High School, Surfside, FL, Academic Excellence, sponsored by The Chase Manhattan Bank.

José Juan Barraza, Jr., Hilltop High School, San Ysidro, CA, Science and Technology, sponsored by Microsoft.

Jose Juan Barraza, Jr. File Photo.

In May, each of the 60 Regional Winners of the Hispanic Heritage Youth Awards 2000 received $2,000 to use for their education, in addition to a state-of-the-art personal computer. The Hispanic Heritage Awards Foundation also made a $1,000 donation to a community service organization chosen by each Regional Winner. The six National Winners each receive an additional $5,000.

Thousands of Hispanic high school students (9th through 12th grade) submitted applications earlier this year to the Hispanic Heritage Awards Foundation. Local community leaders in each city selected the Regional Winners for their accomplishments in their chosen discipline, their potential for leadership, and for their commitment to community service. Winners must demonstrate strength and quality of character and show that their Hispanic heritage plays a significant role in their lives. Beginning in January 2001, information about how to apply to the Hispanic Heritage Youth Awards 2001 will be available at the Foundation's Web site at

This year, the Hispanic Heritage Awards Foundation dramatically increased the value of its prizes to youth to total nearly $400,000 and added a new awards, the "Hispanic Heritage Youth Award for Science and Technology." The Youth Awards program began in 1998 under the visionary sponsorship of the Fannie Mae Foundation and reached Hispanic youth in five cities. In its second year, the program was expanded substantially. This year the program continued to expand, adding two new sponsors, Microsoft and CompUSA, and two new cities, extending the program's outreach to a total of ten cities; Chicago, Dallas, Denver, Los Angeles, Miami, New York City, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Antonio and San Diego. American Airlines, a new premiere corporate sponsor and Official Airline of the Hispanic Heritage Awards will fly the National Winners to the nation's capital first-class in September for the Millennium Celebration of Hispanic Heritage Awards.

Return to the Frontpage