November 22, 2002

Southwestern College SUN earns prestigious state and national journalism excellence awards

The Southwestern College Sun won second place in the nation for community college newspapers at the annual Associated Collegiate Press Convention in Orlando, Florida. The Sun was one of five papers from across the United States to win a General Excellence award from the ACP. The Sun finished third last year.

SWC also earned a special award for its September 11 anniversary issue. Josh Calley of the Sun won an individual award for outstanding photography, and SWC’s Ben Berk and Fabian Chow won the Design of the Year Award.

The Sun was named the state’s best community college newspaper by the California Newspaper Publishers Association for its 2001-02 publication year. The award, announced at CNPA’s annual convention, is the first of its kind for SWC journalists.

The recognition came on the heels of the First Amendment Award bestowed on the program by the San Diego Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists at its annual gathering. The Sun was honored for its courageous and honest reporting of issues related to America’s doctrine of freedom of speech. The student newspaper was chosen over all other professional and student media in the region.

SWC was also the Best of Show winner at the San Diego County Fair Publications Competition for the second year in a row. The paper won top honors for news, sports, feature and design. Photographer Josh Calley won two awards for photojournalism.

Southwestern won a record 28 awards, including its sixth consecutive General Excellence Award, at the recent Journalism Association of Community Colleges Conference at CSU Fullerton. Winners were Ken Pagano, Ben Berk, Fabian Chow, Jack Acayan, Jesse Echon, Robert Williams, Maxine Galvante, Sterling Silva, Jesica Fellman, Carlos Medina, Allison Sampite, Butch Rosser, Karla Rodas, Catherine Ricketts, Estaban Galvez, Martin Lopez, Shaun Cusack, Martin Dougherty, Chris Moselle, Mandy Jouan, Ivan Orozco, Jamie Cardenas, James Thompson, Josh Calley, Nadia Smit and Kim Giambruno.

Professional journalists from the San Diego Press Club honored the Sun with 12 awards at its annual banquet recently, including two in professional categories. Award recipients were Moselle, Melissa Marie Mationg, Karla Camarena, Silva, Abigail Bautista, Neil Garcia, Rosser, Cardenas, Caleb Stevens and Calley. Adjunction journalism instructor Sandra Dibble, a Pulitzer Prize winner at the Miami Herald, won two professional awards for her coverage of the border and Baja California.

The 2001-02 staff of the Sun has won a record 133 awards for journalism excellence so far. The paper is published by the Journalism 200 class. The class is opened to all student writers, photographers, artists, designers, business representatives and leaders.

Return to the Frontpage