November 10, 2000

Southwestern College "Sun" Wins Major Journalism Awards

Chula Vista, CA — Woodward and Bernstein better watch out. A new generation of ace reporters and editors are making their way through the ropes and picking up major awards and recognition along the way. The Southwestern College "Sun" recently garnered more than 25 state and local awards for excellence in college journalism, making them a giant among college newspapers statewide.

The newspaper staff won an impressive 19 awards —a school record— at the Fall Journalism Association of Community Colleges (JACC) conference at CSU Fullerton. The college picked up its second consecutive General Excellence Award for Outstanding College Newspaper. In addition, cartoonist Neil Garcia won four awards for editorial cartooning, sweeping an entire category single-handedly.

Other Southwestern College winners included: Philip Nerat, Adrian White and Darnel Smith (advertising); Anthony Garcia and Ken Pagano (advertising); Sabina Salmeron, Carmen Jenkins and Sibyl Macias (advertising); Angela Stark (advertising and copy editing); Joseph F. Lancaster (sports photography and sports feature writing); Ben Berk (news writing); Ken Pagano (front page design); Greg Hudson (front page design); Greg Hudson (front page design); Christine Rodriguez (copy editing and editorial writing); Carlos Medina (sport writing); and Abel Morfin (critical review).

More than 700 journalism and public relations professionals were in attendance as the "Sun" was presented with ten more honors at this year's San Diego Press Club Annual Awards banquet held October 12 at the Town and Country Convention Center. The college had ten entries in four categories in the college division that included SDSU, UCSD, Point Loma Nazarena College, Grossmont College, San Diego City College, and Palomar College.

The "Sun" won eight of the ten college division honors, sweeping the feature story category. Secondly, the newspaper won two of the three photography awards. The winners were: Joseph F. Lancaster, first place, photography; Guadalupe Carrillo, second place, photography; Ben Berk, first place, news writing; Heidah Aranfard, third place, opinion article; Kirsten Myers, first place, feature writing; Christine Rodriguez, second place, feature writing; and Maria Elena Galleher, third place, feature writing.

Since there is no editorial cartoon competition on the college division, "Sun" cartoonist Neil Garcia was entered in the professional division for non-daily newspapers and magazines, and brought home first, second, and third place.

Return to the Frontpage