May 10, 2002

La Prensa San Diego

Recognized by CTA

The California Teachers Association informed La Prensa San Diego that it was a WINNER of a John Swett Award for Media Excellence in the category of Weekly/Individual/Continuous Coverage. The John Swett Award is the highest honor the California Teachers Association can bestow upon media professionals for excellence in Education reporting.

“The John Swett Award was awarded to Yvette tenBerge, for excellence in reporting on the turmoil brought about by San Diego Unified School District and Superintendent Alan Bersin. Bersin’s efforts to bring about change in the school district have been heatedly rejected, not only by School Board Trustees Frances O’Neill Zimmerman and John de Beck, but by large numbers of very unhappy teachers, parents, and students,” said Publisher Daniel Muñoz Sr.

“We are very proud of the professionalism, dedication and investigative skills that Yvette has brought to our staff. La Prensa San Diego has demonstrated that the size of a media outlet is not the only factor that can produce excellence in reporting,” said Editor Dan Muñoz Jr.

“We at CTA are very proud to have this opportunity to recognize (Yvette tenBerge) for excellent work and coverage of the needs and achievements of public education,” said Mike Myslinski, Media Consultant for the California Teachers Association.

The presentation ceremony and luncheon will be held on Saturday, June 8, 2002 in the Century Room of the Sheraton Gateway Hotel in Los Angeles.

Return to the Frontpage