July 21, 2000

BECA Foundation Awards Over $69,750 to New Top Scholars

Outstanding scholars who have demonstrated community service involvement will be honored at the upcoming annual scholarship awards dinner. The BECA Foundation provides thousands of dollars in scholarships to deserving Latino students annually. This year BECA has selected thirty-three new recipients, several of whom will receive $2,000 a year for a total of four years.

The new recipients are:

Charlie Arroyo, Rancho Buena Vista, UC Davis
Jose Barraza, Hilltop High, MIT
Maribel Beaz, Carlsbad High, UC Santa Barbara
Angel Brambila, Eastlake High, UC Irvine
Maria Caballero, San Marcos High, Palomar College
Andres Calderon, San Marcos High, UC Davis
Bernardo Castro, Eastlake High, UCLA
Leslie Carrillo, Escondido High, San Diego State
Nicole Edwards, Escondido High, UC Berkeley
Rachel Garza, Vista High, Point Loma Nazarene University
Ana Gutierrez, San Dieguito Academy, USD
Cindy Gutierrez, Vista High, CSUSM
Sonya Huecias, Torrey Pines High, Loyola Marymount University
Milenka Meneses, San Marcos High, UC San Diego
Tanya Montes, Eastlake High, San Francisco State College
Gabriel Morales, La Costa Canyon High, CSUSM
Marcos Olivo, Center City High School, Palomar College
Mayra Parra, Chula Vista High, San Diego State
Wenceslao Pena, Castle Park High, Stanford University
Francisco Ramirez, Valley High, Palomar College
Maria Refugio, Poway High, Palomar College
Elizabeth Rodriguez, San Pasqual High, Palomar College
Martha Rodriguez, Castle Park High, University of the Pacific
Christina Salas, Rancho Buena Vista, UC Irvine
Shalem Uribe, Torrey Pines High, USC
Maritza Villegas, Vista High, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Sergio Villegas, Castle Park High, UCSD

Additional New Recipients

Juan Caballero, CSU San Marcos
Randy Hernandez, CSU San Marcos
Claudia Ignacio, CSU San Marcos
Vera Paige, Palomar College
Francisco Rivera, Mesa College
Aida Vasquez, CSU San Marcos

This year the BECA Foundation will be celebrating its Sixteenth year anniversary. The upcoming Annual Awards dinner will be held July 29, 2000 at the California Center for the Arts, Escondido. Cocktails will begin at 6:00 p.m.; entertainment will be provided by "La Fiesta Danzantes de San Diego" directed by Yolanda Chacon-Beniques, dinner begins at 7:00 p.m., with the awards ceremony ending promptly at 9:30 p.m. For reservations call (760) 471-5465.

Return to Frontpage