July 9 2004

Two Latinos Named to California State University Board of Trustees

SACRAMENTO — Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger today announced the appointment of Moctesuma Esparza and Melinda Guzman-Moore to the California State University Board of Trustees.

Also appointed were Jeffrey Bleich, Herbert Carter, Carol Chandler, George Gowgani, Raymond Holdsworth, and student-member Corey Jackson.

“Higher education is an essential component of California’s future and economic prosperity. The California State University helps meet the educational needs of Californians by serving as the largest, most diverse, and one of the most affordable systems in the United States,” said Governor Schwarzenegger “Each of these highly qualified individuals shares my commitment to higher education and will work passionately to ensure the continuing success of the California State University system.”

Moctesuma Esparza is executive producer of Esparza/Katz Productions and served as president of Buenavision Telecommunications, Inc. for over 20 years and is now the chief executive officer MAYA Cinemas of North America, Inc. He earned a Master of Fine Arts and a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of California, Los Angeles. Esparza, 55, resides in Los Angeles. He is a Democrat.

Melinda Guzman-Moore is a partner in the law firm of Goldsberry Freeman Guzman & Ditora where she practices business, tort, labor, and employment law. She is a member of the State Bar of California and chair of the California Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. She earned a Juris Doctorate and a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of California, Davis. Guzman-Moore resides in Fair Oaks. She is a Democrat.

These positions require Senate confirmation and the compensation is $100 per diem.

The California State University Board of Trustees sets policy and provides guidance for the 23 campuses, 409,000 students, and 44,000 faculty of the California State University system. In addition to oversight and broad coordination of campus curricular development, the board appoints the chancellor and vice chancellors for the system, as well as the presidents for the campuses. The board consists of 24 members, 19 of which are appointed by the Governor.

Return to the Frontpage