January 11, 2002

Fox Sports World To Televise FC Gold Cup 2002

Fox Sports World has acquired the English-language telecast rights to the FC Gold Cup 2002 with network telecasts set to commence on Friday, January 18, 2002. The opening match, between Martinique and Costa Rica, will kick-off at 7:00 PM ET, live from Miami's Orange Bowl. The 20-game tournament event sites will alternate between Miami, Florida's Orange Bowl and Pasadena, California's Rose Bowl.

Established in 1991 by the Football Confederation (CONCACAF), the Gold Cup tournament features top national teams from North America, Central America and the Caribbean. Twelve teams including the United States, three-time Gold Cup Champion, Mexico, Cuba, Guatemala and 2000 tournament champion Canada, will participate in the tournament's sixth edition.

Fox Sports World, the first and only 24-hour English-language, all international sports network in the United States is available through affiliated cable systems, and through DirecTV and Dish Network satellite providers throughout the United States. For more information, visit Fox Sports World online at www.foxsportsworld.com.

 

FC Gold Cup 2002 Broadcast Schedule on Fox Sports World*

 

Date Teams Time (ET)*

Friday, Jan 18 Martinique vs. Costa Rica 7:00 PM
Friday, Jan 18 Haiti vs. Canada 9:00 PM
Monday, Jan 21 El Salvador vs. Mexico 11:00 PM
Tuesday, Jan 22 Costa Rica vs. Trinidad 5:00 PM
Tuesday, Jan 22 Trinidad vs. Martinique 7:00 PM
Tuesday, Jan 22 Ecuador vs. Haiti 9:00 PM
Wednesday, Jan 23 Cuba vs. Korea 12:00 AM
Thursday, Jan 24 Mexico vs. Guatemala 5:00 PM
Thursday, Jan 24 Canada vs. Ecuador 11:00 PM
Friday, Jan 25 Guatemala vs. El Salvador 11:00 PM
Saturday, Jan 26 Teams TBA 12:00 PM
Monday, Jan 28 Teams TBA 5:00 PM
Monday, Jan 28 Quarter Final 1 8:00 PM
Monday, Jan 28 Quarter Final 2 11:00 PM
Tuesday, Jan 29 Quarter Final 3 8:00 PM
Tuesday, Jan 29 Quarter Final 4 11:00 PM
Wednesday, Jan 30 Semi Final 1 9:00 PM
Thursday, Feb 1 Semi Final 2 11:00 PM
Sunday, Feb 3 Final / 3rd Place 11:00 PM Monday, Feb 4 Final 8:00 PM
*Programming Subject to Change

Return to the Frontpage