April 7, 2000

Gulls Announce Taylor Cup Playoff Dates

The San Diego Gulls have announced two playoff dates for the first round of the 1999-2000 Taylor Cup Playoffs. The first round of the playoffs will begin on Friday, April 14. The Gulls clinched the Southern Division, therefore, the team has gained home-ice advantage and will play at the San Diego Sports Arena for the first two games of the Taylor Cup Playoffs on Friday, April 14 and Saturday, April 15. Both games are set to start at 7:00 p.m. PST.

This will mark the Gulls' fifth playoff appearance in franchise history. The San Diego Gulls will be looking to climb back to the top of the West Coast Hockey League mountain during this year's playoffs and reclaim the Taylor Cup. After winning the Taylor Cup three years in a row (1995-96, 1996-97, 1997-98), the Gulls were defeated by the Tacoma Sabercats during the third round of last season's Taylor Cup Finals. The last game of the Gulls' regular season will be played on Saturday, April 8 against the Fresno Falcons at the San Diego Sports Arena.

The 1999-2000 Taylor Cup Playoffs will follow a Best-of-Five, Best-of-Five, Best-of-Seven format for the First Round, Division Finals and Taylor Cup Finals, respectively. The first two games of each round will be awarded to the higher seed team. As the WCHL standings currently indicate, the Gulls will face-off against the Fresno Falcons during the first round. This, however, is subject to change as the season concludes.

Tickets for playoffs begin at $17.50 and will go on sale in early-April. Orders for ticket packages are currently being taken. Ticket information can be obtained by calling the San Diego Gulls at (619) 224-GOAL.

Return to Frontpage