January 12, 2007

Otay Water District Board Of Directors Elects New President

Gary Croucher Elected As President

SPRING VALLEY – The Otay Water District announced that Gary Croucher has been unanimously elected President of the Board of Directors. Jose Lopez was elected Vice-President and former President, Jaime Bonilla, transitioned to Treasurer.

“It’s an honor to be stepping into the role of President of the Board, and I’d like to thank my colleagues for their support,” said Croucher. “The District is moving in the right direction, and I’m proud to carry on the proactive leadership of the board and working to improve the quality of services we provide to our customers.”

The San Diego County Board of Supervisors appointed Croucher to the Board in June 2001. In November 2002, he was elected to fill the Division 3 seat for a four-year term and ran unopposed in the November 2006 election.

Croucher currently represents the Otay Water District on the San Diego County Water Authority (SDCWA) where he serves as chairman of the Imported Water Committee. While serving on the SDCWA, he also represents the district on the Legislative, Conservation and Outreach, Small Contractor Outreach and Opportunities, Colorado River Program Ad Hoc, and Conservation Ad Hoc Committees.

The Otay Water District was founded in 1956 to serve as a public water utility. The District distributes water to more than 190,000 ratepayers within approximately 125 square miles of southeastern San Diego County, including the communities of Jamul, La Presa, Rancho San Diego, Spring Valley, eastern Chula Vista, Otay Mesa and unincorporated communities adjacent to southern El Cajon and La Mesa.

Return to the Frontpage